banner - Momus

Momus -

[ Released on Creation Records - CRECD 113 - June 1992 ]

MOMUS SAYS:  At the Edinburgh Festival, 1991, Momus sees a play based on a short story by Yukio Mishima: an old lady travels back through time to her youth. The emotions released by this collision between science fiction and melodrama - nostalgia for the future, a wistful distance from the present, a kind of wise, weary and sad resignation - inspire him to return to a more sentimental style of songwriting. Almost kitsch, set to lush ambient music which turns in spirals of fifths, 'Voyager' is the sound of alienation turning into a distant sort of caring.

  1. Cibachrome Blue
  2. Virtual Reality
  3. Vocation
  4. Conquistador
  5. Spacewalk
  6. Summer Holiday 1999
  7. Afterglow
  8. Trans Siberian Express
  9. Voyager
  10. Momutation 3